Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 2nd, 2012

HAPPY HUMP DAY!

Today started off muucchh better than yesterday. I’ve been in an uber-good mood all day, as I have dinner plans tonight with my amazing friend Elissia!

I met Elissia at my current job, and we hit it off immediately! She’s beautiful, brilliant, and one of the most loyal friends people that I know. I’ve been lucky enough to see Elissia marry a wonderful guy AND give birth to an absurdly cute baby boy (as in I got updates, people).

Although scheduling time together can be tough, the Insta-Friends rule definitely applies to us, and we always pick up where we left off :).

Exciting -to-me news! This week I decided to begin participating in the healthy-living-blog phenomenon What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)!

WIAW was started by Jenn at Peas and Crayons as a weekly food diary, and it caught on like wildfire! In Jenn’s words:

“—-What WIAW isn’t about—-
Comparison – Judgement – Restriction – Guilt
—-What WIAW is about—-
Celebrating one of the glorious things we all have in common: We all eat!
WIAW is…about making new friends, breaking out of a food rut, noting changes in your diet/lifestyle, inspiring yourself & others, embracing fruit & vegetables, nourishing your body with the foods that work for you, finding new ways to eat your favorite foods, and so much more <3″

Still curious? You can read about it here!

Although I already share some of my meals and snacks with you guys, I think it will still be fun to participate in the awesome collective spirit that is WIAW. Jenn also creates monthly WIAW challenges that I look forward to taking on!

Click on me to go straight to the WIAW site!

Woulda had this in the bag.

So let’s get to it!

Breakfast: Chobani plain Greek yogurt with Splenda, cinnamon and RIPE sliced banana; Whole Wheat English muffin with butter and a drizzle of honey

Breakout Butter Shot! Mmmmm

Lunch: Whole wheat toast with a heaping pile o’ cottage cheese, 1/2 sliced avocado, sprinkled with S and P; veggies tossed in balsamic, side of hummus

Ate me hoomus with the dregs of these yummy pretzels!

Dessert: First chunk of this chocolate bar from my Big-Girl Easter Basket!

If you know me BUT AT ALL, I keep a serious amount of sweets chocolate at home, in my desk, and on my person at all times. So I am just now getting to this guy on the waitlist! Verdict: Incredible! Chocolate tasty enough to stand alone, with a fabulous bonus crunch from the walnuts and chewiness from the banana. Would absolutely recommend.

Snack 1: Heavenly bowl of mixed fruit. I could live off of fresh fruit and dark chocolate.

Snack 2: Pretzels dipped in my Vanilla Maple Roasted Almond Butter! The sweet/salty combo is slammin’.

Mint tea with a splash of whole milk

Unexpected treat! Pepperidge Farm ‘Brussels’ cookie, leftover from a meeting! Love when that happens :).

I’m off to meet Elissia for dinner, but I will update this post with my final eats of of this WIAW tomorrow. (Edited to note: One of the great things about WIAW is its flexibility! Since Elissia and I ended up having such a yummy dinner with multiple plates, I’ll be continuing my WIAW goodies on tomorrow’s post.)

I want to leave you all with something that I recently read on Allie’s blog, Live Laught Eat, which I thought was remarkably well-said and accurate:

“If I’ve learned anything the past few years it’s that our bodies are incredibly smart. Care for it, exercise some patience with it and it will naturally do what it needs to do.”

Have a fantastic night!

Read Full Post »

Tonight was EXACTLY what I needed after an aggressive work day, and an even more aggressive morning!

My evening started with a hodgepodge of yummy pre-workout snacks

The Ginger People Original Ginger Chews - LOVE the spice in these lil' firecrackers!

Great option when you need a snack AND your sweet-tooth is raging

I used my fuel for an awesome sweat sesh at the Graybar Equinox! I started with a 13 minute treadmill warm-up, then completed three sets of the Women’s Health At-Home Workout, adding weights to the plie squats and lunges.

The weather decided to cooperate tonight, and I felt myself relax and revive as I breathed in the warm air.

To top it off, I threw together a licktheplateclean scrumptious dinner and dessert!

Steamed veggies tossed with salsa, CRACK baked Parmesan chicken tenders, Annie's Organic White Cheddar Shells. Perfection.

1-2-3 Cake with Protein Frosting (sugar-free Vanilla Jello pudding and plain Greek yogurt) -- I got crazy and added almond extract and coconut flakes. Sooo good but almost gone :(.

So, why was a lovely night JUST what the doctor ordered?

This morning, when I settled down on the train for my commute, I noticed some old newspapers underneath my seat. Absentmindedly, I kicked the papers a few inches away, so that my feet wouldn’t slide around on them.

All of a sudden I heard a flutter of sharp quick movements, and a man sitting two rows ahead appeared in my wide-eyed gaze.  In an furious, derogatory tone he spat “YOU COULD HAVE JUST PICKED THEM UP INSTEAD OF KICKING THEM!”. He grabbed the papers from under my feet and ran out to throw them away. Back on the train, he actually moved his person and accoutrement to a seat further away from me.

I sat in stunned, horrified silence for several entire minutes.

I didn't do it.

Eventually my brain began to register two sets of thoughts:

The self-righteous Thoughts:

  1. What’s HIS problem?! I get that I have upset him by my newspaper carelessness, but there’s gotta be something personal that that this dude is unleashing on me.
  2. Plus, these trains are littered with nasty leftovers, and I’d never make it on a train if I tried to pick it all up!
  3.  Plus PLUS–do you KNOW what my eyes have seen in the last two days?? Those sodden newspapers would have been bartered for a McDonald’s fish sandwich and used as napkins on that bus.

The Tail Between My Legs Thought:

  1. He’s right. I SHOULD have thrown those newspapers away.
  2. No. 1’s all I got.

Granted, the guy could have been much nicer in his communication, and I do think there must’ve been a bee in his bonnet about something else.

Bottom line though, it was inconsiderate of me to perpetuate the train-trashing cycle by kicking the papers aside, instead of throwing them away. Of course I can’t pick up every single piece of train garbage (talkin’ to you, self-righteous Bean), but I certainly can dispose of what ends up right under my nose/FEET.

I like to think of myself as a generally mindful person. I care about the environment, and I care about the discomfort of others. But living in NYC has hardened me in some ways–sharpened my tongue, decreased my patience, channeled most of my focus inward. The existence of those newspapers barely even registered in my mind.

The Grind.

Unfortunately, it is a raw truth that ‘making it here’ often seems to require a callousness towards…well, anything not ME. Like I said, No.1’s all I got.

And yet, I wonder if it really has to be that way? My train-foe’s condescending attitude suggested that he is indeed a New Yorker, but he was thoughtful enough to do his part. Come on, if HE can do it, I can do it.

As I’ve noted and praised, I live more presently as a result of this blog than I have in years, so why not apply this mindset to my greater surroundings?

I’m not gonna lie to you–this morning’s exchange really shook me. I was angry, insulted and embarrassed.

You talkin' to ME?

He sure was.

But I’ve always had a thick skin, I respond well to tough love total disdain (apparently), and this experience prompted a new goal for me: to try to be as generous and considerate a person while living in this city as I should behere or anywhere else.

So although it was an unpleasant jolt, I am thankful that it happened! I took my new goal into consideration on my walk home tonight, practicing patience with slow walkers and offering smiles to strangers. Everyone I smiled at flashed a grin right back! It was wonderful.

On that note, I’m heading to bed with the hopes of a slighter more placid tomorrow. Sleep tight!

Read Full Post »