Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 7th, 2012

[Setting the Stage]:

  • 5 guys, 3 girls, 2 patient and generous parents
  •  The Stanton Social restaurant
  • A willing nearby bar
  • A fiest-tive fire lit beneath them!

I. The Warm Up

Strawberry Fields Cocktail

  • The Social Tea ketel one citron, gunpowder green tea, orange-honey marmalade
  • Bea’s Gin-Lemon Mojito bombay sapphire, shredded mint, fresh lemon, lemon syrup, lemon-lime soda
  • Strawberry Fields Grey Goose Citron, muddled fresh strawberries,
  • Red wine
  • white wine

II. An Aerial Attack

Kobe Beef Sliders

  • French Onion Soup Dumplings
  • Baby Spinach Salad roasted corn, smoked goat cheese & spiced cashews
  • Barbeque Duck Confit & Black Bean Empanadas smoked tomato & blood orange jam
  • Red Snapper Tacos creamy avocado, spicy mango
  • Old School Meatballs basil & ricotta ‘manicotti’
  • ‘Chicken N’ Waffles’ brick pressed chicken, aged cheddar waffle, corn pudding, balsamic spiked maple syrup
  • Creekstone Farms Braised Short Rib Soft Tacos cherry tomato relish, poblano crema
  • Kobe Beef Burger Sliders
  • Rhode Island Style Lobster Roll Sliders
  • ‘Kobe Philly’ truffle & goat cheese fondue Sliders
  • Social Mac & Cheese chorizo, ovendried tomato

III. Beggin’ for Mercy

Warm Cinnamon Sugar Doughnuts with three dipping sauces: caramel, strawberry jam, dark chocolate. It’s just silly.

  • Warm Doughnuts
  • Chocolate-covered Peanut Butter Bon Bons with Blackberry Sorbet
  • 90-Proof Milkshake Shot makers mark & caramel ice cream

IV. No Pain, No Gain

The Enabler

  • Spitzer’s Bar–An American Gastro Pub
  • Some glasses of wine
  • More glasses of beer

It was a night to remember! I tried all of the dishes listed above except the lobster roll (it was individually ordered), and every morsel tasted fantastic. Our group had an unbeatable dynamic, and the night was a complete blast from start to finish!

[ Invite audience to participate]: TIME TO ASSESS THE DAMAGE.

If there were a fifth act to this saga, it would undoubtedly be named something like…The Recovery.

I felt less than peachy keen looked like a puffer fish when I rolled outta bed this morning, but I managed to get myself back on track with some OTC treatments throughout the day!

Green Monster: 1 frozen banana, 1 scoop banana-flavored Spirutein, 1/4 cup Greek yogurt, 1 cup almond milk, 1.5 tbs peanut butter, scoop of ground flax seeds, dash of cinnamon. I think my eyes were still sealed shut when I concocted and GUZZLED this down.

P.S. Got my nails did yesterday–Tart Deco by Essie. LOVE.

Coffee from my favorite local (NYC chain) patisserie, and a walk to get my blood flowin’! (P.S. I buy regular coffee and doctor it up to save $– I add whole milk, a dash of cinnamon and cocoa powder and I’d wager it better than a Starbucks latte)

Faux-Pet Therapy at FAO Schwartz. You know you have.

A fabulous surprise gift from my dear friend Jean-Marie! Um hello healthy Nutella?!

One of these barres is not like the other.

Frances and I took a Barre Burn class at at the Equinox in my hood, and it was terrible! Nothing like the class I took in Richmond. The instructor (a sub) was straight-up Spirit Fingers style and was unquestionably making it up on the fly.

It would have been more disappointing if it weren’t so amusing! We got a solid abs workout clenching to unsuccessfully ward off snorts of laughter.

A powerful TREAT-ment I snagged at Westerly Natural Market. These are unbelievable.

And the most potent medicine?!

It just feels right to fit my face in here.

Real-Deal Pet therapy at my first ANIMAL HAVEN volunteer session!

I maintain eye contact and rule the world.

Two and half hours of  HEAVEN–playing with kittens and puppies, helping with feeding time, and taking the small dogs on their final evening walk.

I’m tellin’ you, I left that place covered in pee and fur and GLOWING FROM THE INSIDE OUT like I just spent a week at Canyon Ranch.

Tonight has been wonderfully relaxing, and I just polished off a bowl of chocolate/vanilla  fro-yo, drizzled in my new Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut butter!

The nut butter hardened like Magic Shell. Absurdly delicious and the cherry on top of my day. Thank you, Jean-Marie!

Finally feeling back to me old self, and it’s time for some shut-eye :).

*Note: The food/drink pictures from Stanton Social were pulled from Yelp–my iPhone pics were too dark and I hate flash!

Read Full Post »