Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 9th, 2012

I am so flippin’ excited to share this recipe with you today!

Last night, my darling friend Audrey came over after work, and that girl must have fairy dust in her fingertips because WE MADE SOME MAGIC!

It aaaalll boiled down to this:

For the avoidance of doubt.

COULD.AND.DID.EAT.IT.WITH.A.SPOON.

Before we go there, however, let’s quickly run through a second episode of What I Ate Wednesday!

If you don’t recall what this is, check out last Wednesday’s post!

Oatmeal made with vanilla soy milk; peanut butter, cinnamon and Kashi Go Lean mixed in. Vanilla Activia on the side-wanted Greek yogurt but there wasn’t any left ūüė¶ 1 hr later–unpictured green apple!

Two eggs over-medium, swiss cheese and pesto on a toasted whole wheat English muffin; bowl of veg and balsamic

Bake-sale brownie. Oh-ma-gah. I am SUPER picky when it comes to brownies, but this one was dense and fudgy–just the way I like it!

So fresh and so clean clean! (Forgot to take a pic till the last slice)

Happy Herberts Oat Bran Pretzels dipped in my Maple Vanilla Almond Butter

Homemade Coconut Cherry Pie “Larabar”. Swear these get better every day.

For the rest of my WIAW, you’ll have to wait (again, sorry!) for tomorrow. I got a special meal on my agenda tonight that deserves s’more attention!

Ok guys, if you’re not already sitting down–don’t. Doing so will take you longer to get to the grocery store and buy ingredients for this recipe.

To come up with the¬†pi√®ce de r√©sistance below, I started with a recipe from Sonia’s incredible blog, The Healthy Foodie, and made some tweaks to suit my taste.

Apparently, I have excellent taste.

Bean’s Green Healthy Fettuccine Alfredo

  • Whole wheat fettuccine¬†(couldn’t find so I used WW linguine)
  • ¬ĺ cup 1% plain cottage cheese
  • ¬Ĺ cup 0% plain Greek yogurt
  • ¬Ĺ ripe avocado¬†(my addition for some extra healthy fats, fiber, creaminess, and color!)
  • Generous ¬Ĺ cup grated/shredded Parmesan or Pecorino Romano, plus extra for topping (increased from 1/4 cup–I mean, we’re making’ Alfredo here)
  • 3-4¬†cloves of garlic
  • 1 bag of spinach (my 2nd addition to the original recipe)
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Do you spot the highly incongruous element?

Like, say, a TROPICAL FRUIT on me cottage cheese cup!?

Thankfully, Audrey pointed this out in the nick of time AND pretended confessed that she made the exact same mistake with this ill-labeled cottage cheese earlier in the week. RUDE. She was a rock star and ran out to grab the right stuff while I got started with dinner.  Bonus: Auds says the the pineapple is awesome!

Immediately upon beginning any pasta recipe, I like to go ahead and start boiling my pasta water. Don’t forget to add a generous pinch of salt!

Now drizzle some olive oil in a large skillet and turn it to medium heat. Roughly chop two garlic cloves so that the pieces are large enough to remove later with fingers (you can mince the garlic and leave it if you’re really a garlic fanatic, but I think it’d be overkill).

Add garlic to pan; stir and heat for about a minute before adding your bag of spinach. DO NOT BE ALARMED. The enormous pile of spinach will diminish by leaps and bounds as you stir.

Opening Magic Act

When your spinach has wilted, turn off heat and move skillet to another burner. Pick out garlic chunks and do with them what you will.

Here’s where it starts…and continues to be outrageously easy:¬† Go ahead and add your pasta to the (hopefully) boiling water. Cook according to package directions.¬† Measure out the rest of the ingredients, excluding spinach and including remaining 1-2 garlic cloves (per your preference), and add to the food processor.

Blend until everything is smooth and incorporated, about 1 minute.

Hold my hair back I’m goin’ in.

Time to bring it all together! Take your spinachy skillet and put it back on a medium-heat burner. Drain your pasta and add it to the skillet. Now pour your heavenly “alfredo” sauce on top (you may not need it all), and mix everything gently together, allowing the sauce to heat through.

Sharply observed by Audrey–at this point, you will begin to hear those glorious squelching sounds that let you know you’re doin’ somethin’ right.

Serve piping hot with an extra sprinkle of cheese and freshly-grated black pepper. I chopped up the last of my Parmesan Baked Chicken Tenders and threw them in for some extra protein.

SWOON.

Full disclosure: This pistachio-hued fauxtuccine alfredo is downright addicting. The sauce tastes fabulous in pasta, but it could easily be used in a variety of ways! Crudite dip, sandwich spread, PIZZA SAUCE, salad dressing?! At this juncture, I cannot imagine my life going forward without always having a batch of this stowed in the fridge for emergencies.

Enjoy at your own risk and have a great Wednesday night!

Read Full Post »