Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 19th, 2012

Welcome to another edition of the New and Improved Protein Friday! I can already tell that this new plan will be significantly easier for me to accomplish!

If you missed last week’s post: On the new and improved plan, I will document the protein content of my Friday edibles to see if I am meeting my required daily intake → 69-92 grams! [please keep in mind that my numbers are approximations based on my research]

This will allow me to review my meals with some objectivity and see where I might be lacking, as well as offer you some ideas on how to fuel yourself with the proper protein. Everybody wins.

Teamwork!

The UVA Club party last night was lovely and much tamer than I expected (bonus). I enjoyed a delicious glass of Riesling and caught up with a few friends that I hadn’t seen in forever!

Letting loose: the post-grad years

Despite the low-key night,  I woke up this morning in need of serious fuel to get me through the day. Natch started with a STRONG cuppa coffee–I drooled the first sip onto my pants, but the rest was smoooooth-sailing.

I’d estimate that I added about 1 tbs of whole milk to my cup, which clocks in at a solid gram of protein. Every bit counts!

Breakfast came through in a clutch:

A Dairy Delight!

  • Whole wheat English muffin: 6 grams
  • 1 tbs cream cheese: 2 grams
  • Chobani 0% plain yogurt: 18 grams
  • Medium banana: 1 gram
  • cinnamon and Bonne Maman strawberry preserves for flavor power!

I battled with myself a bit when ordering lunch this morning, because I know that eat sandwiches most days and it’s probably super boring for you guys to see.  I really gave the other options (Mexican, Thai, salads, sushi, pizza etc.) a looksie, but when I saw that my favorite restaurant on our menu was offering my favorite special sandwich, I couldn’t resist!

“Dover Special” from Bruckners Good to Go: All natural chicken breast,arugula,ripe avocado,dill havarti cheese, (sans tomato for me), fresh pepper and our house sun dried tomato dressing on fresh artisan whole grain bread

The creamy avocado and dill havarti pair perfectly with a slight crunch from the grainy bread. You can tell that this was a properly-fed chicken–the meat is so moist! And the homemade  sundried-tomato mayo? Fuggedaboutit.

This was so delicious, I actually emailed the Bruckners owner to tell him how much I enjoyed it! Figure it can’t hurt to encourage them to keep up the good work!

  • 3.5 oz sliced chicken breast: 25 grams
  • slice dill havarti cheese: 6 grams
  • 1/8 avocado: 0.5 grams
  • 2 slices whole grain bread: 8 grams
  • 1/2 cup carrot sticks (unpictured): 1 gram

Holla! Coming in hot so far.

Mrs. Field mini chocolate chip cookies. These are out-of-control–essentially cookie dough disguised as a cookie. Not gonna fight it.

Negligible protein for the Nibblers!

Because morning isn’t always enough.

  • Grande Iced Coffee with a splash of whole milk: 1.5 grams

Shot o’ sunshine

  • Medium orange: 1 gram

SOUP-er drippy, just the way I like it!

  • Happy Herberts dipped in 1.5 tbs (ish) peanut butter: 8 grams

Forgot to snap a pic, thank you ‘net!

  • Kashi Chewy Trail Mix Granola Bar: 6 grams
  • small handful almonds: 2 grams

By the end of the workday today, I was COMPLETELY zoinked from the long week. A night in and another outrageously delicious eggy dinner were in order!

Can you give us a minute?

  • 100% Whole Wheat Bagel Thin: 6 grams
  • 2 large eggs: 12 grams
  • 1 slice Gruyere cheese: 8 grams
  • pesto mayo to take it over.the.top
  • Steamed veggies with a generous dollop of healthy fettuccine alfredo sauce (spared you a photo of this oogly concoction): 5 grams

I have a knack for this thing called dessert, and I didn’t disappoint myself tonight!

Chocolate 1-2-3 cake drizzled with Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter and Frozen Banana slices

  • I paired the above with about 1 cup milk, and the whole shebang clocks in around 10 grams

PHEW! Guys, I was a protein POWERHOUSE today….128 GRAMS!

Holy fuel! I haven’t been keeping track of my protein intake long enough to know how typical this is of me, but I certainly didn’t put any extra effort (that I’m aware of?!) into getting more protein today than I have been recently.

Pretty dern cool. I think my protein intake today suggests that I should always be striving for the higher end of my above-mentioned range, since I didn’t feel incredibly stuffed or weighed down by my meals. So it’s 92 or bust for this chick!

Before I hit the hay, I wanna share an awesome nail color I discovered this week…

Silken Cord by Essie

My dollbaby future sister-in-law Mary Kathryn aptly described it as watermelon! Summer staple for sure.

Okie dokie! Hope you enjoyed this PF edition and have a safe, fabulous Friday night!

Read Full Post »