Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 21st, 2012

Oh happy day!

Since our last rendezvous, my Sunday continued on joyously!

Around 11 am, I headed out into the gorgeous day–a woman on a mission.

Call me maybe (can’t get enough) crazy, but I really don’t love shopping. I appreciate looking relatively put together and attractive, but I find the actual process from storefront → register rather loathsome.

However, I was truly in need of some attire for this wedding wave that’s rollin’ in and taking no prisoners!

Think I tuckered out the wedding planner.

So I dug my heels in and had some shopping success on 5th Avenue this morning!

I found a few beautiful dresses that should get me through the summer/prevent regret from my betrothed friends for inviting the girl in the denim jumpsuit (sick idea–holla at me if you’ve seen one).

Post-spree, I picked up lunch with a friend at Le Pain Quotidien, and we ate our DELICIOUS sandwiches on a grassy knoll in Central Park

“Tartine” Sandwich: Roasted Turkey & Avocado with whole grain mustard and tomato vinaigrette

I am generally quite dubious about chains like Le Pain Quotidien, but I was blown away by how fresh and tasty the ingredients were in this sandwich. The bread was out-of-this-world–moist and doughy with slightly sour bite. Call me a monkey’s uncle if it wasn’t freshly baked this morning!

We sat contently in the grass for a bit, digesting our sammies and the stunning cloudless day. I’m not sure when I will stop constantly marveling the warmth and weather, but I hope never. The awe is part of the pleasure!

Around 2 I made my way back home for a quick change and my afternoon volunteer session!

Well, hullo again!

The hours at the shelter flew by, filled with new faces, poopy cages and several lovely walks around the neighborhood! Almost the entire litter of German Shepherd puppies was gone, as was an adorable but incredibly timid puppy-mill doodle that particularly touched my heart :).

There was one rather dramatic moment during my shift, when I had to rescue Fritz the Yorki-Poo, after having been exposed to and wearied by the sun for an entire 15 seconds on his walk.

I call it delicate.

Zero problem being his hero for the day.

Survivor satisfaction.

I left Animal Haven around 5:30 and hit up the Union Square Trader Joe’s before making my way home. Back in my nest, I used my ba-rand new TJ’s products to whip up a new-to-me almond butter concoction!

Honey Cinnamon Flax Almond Butter

  • 1 1/4 cup roasted almonds
  • 2 tbs flax seed meal
  • 1 tsp honey (use 1 tbs if you want it noticeably sweet)
  • 1 tsp coconut oil (you can use canola)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Instructions: Blitz your almonds in the food processor until they start to reach the butter stage. Now add your flax meal, honey, cinnamon and salt. Process again, and while machine is running, slowly pour in 1 tsp of melted coconut oil. Blend until you reach the desired consistency. Note: This took my almost 10 minutes of processing to achieve. Be patient!

HOLY CREAMY BUTTER BATMAN!

Speakin’a nobody’s lookin’….

I think I know this is my best batch of AB to date! After much study, I’ve determined that the reasons are 3-Fold:

  1. Aside from the killer health benefits, the flax meal adds a fantastic nuttiness
  2. The emulsification technique using coconut oil creates an unprecedented smoothness of texture
  3. The slight decrease in honey from my previous batches allows the flavor of the roasted almonds to really shine

Any questions? Don’t let the door hit you on your way into the kitchen!

I’m not sure why I decided to really toy with mother nature tonight, but I paired the above with a hefty bowl of Chocolate Avocado Mousse that I threw together yesterday.

Back in business.

I really should have worn goggles before attempting this creation of tastebud ecstasy, but thankfully all explosions took place in the safety of my mouth!

I forgot HOW much I love that chocolate avocado mousse. Truly–every single time I make a batch, I look forward to dessert from the moment I wake up and rue the day it’s gone.

Now it’s time for me to get snug as a bug in a rug in bed (anyone else’s mama say this to them? Makes me miss mine :(! ).

Sleep tight everyone!

Read Full Post »