Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 24th, 2012

Yay for Humpday AND another WIAW!

Peas and Crayons

If you’re new to WIAW, click on the image above to head to Jen’s blog Peas and Crayons and learn more :).

Let’s go ahead and get down to brass tax, so I can share the uhhh-maaazinng recipe I concocted last night with you!

Breakfast Office Overnight Oats: Day before: 1 packet Quaker plain instant oatmeal, 1/2 container Chobani plain yogurt, enough Vanilla soy milk to soak mixture thoroughly. Morning of: added Kashi Go Lean cereal, sliced banana, 1.5 ish tbs peanut butter, cinnamon, pinch of salt. Was quite sad to say goodbye to this bowl!

Lunch: Penny Egg Sandwich! For some reason a good ole’ breakfast sandwich just sounded spot-on to me today. Only bummer is they left out my 2nd requested egg! Fried egg, Swiss, hummus and pesto mayo on an amazingly doughy Portuguese muffin

Veg and balsamic for some nutrients and fiber!

Last chunkies of my Vosges Banana Victoria Bar

Tropical Trio–super ripe cantaloupe, pineapple and raspberries

Honey Cinnamon Flax Almond Butter with Happy Herberts Oatbran Pretzels

Breakstone 2% cottage cheese with Bonne Maman Strawberry Preserves

After this snack/work, I met my awesome friend Elissia for a glass of Sauvignon Blanc on Greenwich Avenue for a quick catch-up before heading back to the city! Loves her :).

Last Coconut Cherry Pie Larabar nugget eaten on the train. The blur is from my tears.

Dinner: Giant falafel ballz with hummus over tabbouleh dressed in a delectable sesame-tahina sauce

Crumbled, mixed, devoured.

Chocolate avocado mousse with cashew pieces and another extra-special topping…see below for the big reveal!

Milk mug shot–took this about half-way through consumption

I also just had a handful of unsulphured dried apricots and cuppa TJ’s Ginger Tea!

WIA-wheeeeew! Great day of eats, all-in-all!

Ok then. So this “recipe”…or, I should really say, this sheer ALCHEMY that took place in my kitchen last night…

I ADORED my Coconut Cherry Pie Larabars, and as the first batch began to dwindle, I started brainstorming new flavor combinations to quell the rising panic!

In the last week (I’d be lying if I said I remembered when exactly), something reminded me of a trail mix that my sweet Mama makes almost every year around Christmas time as a gift for friends and family.

It is so simple but SO fabulous–dried cherries, cashews, dark chocolate chips. The taste of all three ingredients together is truly magical!

They say mother knows best. I don’t know who they are, but they’re onto something.

Merry Christmas…to me.

Chocolate Cherry Cashew LARALEABARS:

  • 2/3 cup Medjool dates, pitted and chopped
  • 2/3 cup dried cherries (Kirkland has the best!)
  • generous 3/4 cup raw cashews
  • 1/3 chopped dark chocolate or chocolate chips (you could probably also use 1-2 tbs cocoa powder but I can’t vouch)

Quick shout-out to one of the best deals in town!

Think chocolate keyboard.

$4.99 for 17.6 ounces of, in my opinion, some of the best-tasting dark chocolate out there. Great for baking, better for eating straight up. Run, don’t walk.

For this recipe, I used 4 squares of the Pound Plus bar, which I estimate around 1/3 cup chopped or in chip form.

Instructions:

Blend dates and cherries in food processor until they form a sticky paste but still maintain some small pieces of fruit (not pure paste).  Remove and place in a mixing bowl. Next, process the cashews and chocolate until chocolate bits are incorporated throughout and small cashew chunks remain.

Add cashew/chocolate mixture to the bowl of dried fruit, roll up your sleeves and start working it all together. You’ll feel like you’re imitating the way bread-kneading looks (with me?). It might seem dry at first, but keep on keepin’ on and eventually it will form a sticky ball of deliciousness.

line a 5×8 in pan with parchment paper. Turn ‘dough’ into the pan and press until you reach preferred thickness for the bars. Cover pan with aluminum foil and refrigerate for at least an hour. Cut into whatever shapes you like (this takes some elbow grease as well)!

NOTES: 1) These bars are very dense and rich, and I just happen to like the look of rectangular-shaped bars, so I made mine about 1/4 inch thick. 2) Because of the chocolate, it is best to keep them refrigerated, but not crucial–they’ll just be a lil’ melty.

Now style them like you’d actually consider giving them away, chuckle to yourself, and go to town.

Make a you wish

These bars are absolutely absurd

Honestly–I’d take one over the ‘real’ Larabar flavors I’ve tried any day! I don’t know why the combination works so well, but I think I’ll be hard-pressed to top it.

Thank you for the inspiration, Mom! You always seem to know me better than I know myself, and I love you much :).

Night night!

Read Full Post »