Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 25th, 2012

We Made it! Happy Memorial Day Weekend aaaand Protein Friday Everybody!!!

To take a little pressure off my wallet before all these weddings, I decided to stay here for the long weekend!

Honestly, I prefer NYC when it empties out a bit. I have never opted into a group summer house like many of my friends, partly to save cash but partly because I truly enjoy having a few weekends alone to wander around and explore the city. Plus, it’s the perfect time to try restaurants that are otherwise impossible to get into!

I have dinner plans with a friend tonight, but I’ll try to get as much of my protein count down for ya before I head out, and I’ll update you with the rest tomorrow.

The timing of these posts is actually quite apt as we head into a string of hot, festive weekends!

Get it, Martha!

To avoid the potentially disastrous repercussions of drinking on an empty stomach, remember to include some form of protein in each of your meals and snacks as you celebrate.

PROTEIN FRIDAY 5/25/12:

Going for Gloss: Honey Cinnamon Almond Flax Butter on top of a buttered muffin. Couldn’t decide between the two, and probably never will again!

Didn’t feel full after eating the bowl and English muffin, so schmeared the remaining banana half with another blob of AB. YUM.

  • Whole wheat English muffin: 6 grams
  • 2 tbs almond butter: 5 grams
  • banana: 1 gram
  • Chobani Strawberry Yogurt: 14 grams

I don’t eat the flavored Chobanis very often because of their high sugar content, but every now and again it’s a nice treat! Loved the Strawberry flavor.

Hail Caesar (wrap)! Haven’t had one in forever but it just sounded deee-liteful.

  • Large whole wheat wrap: 5 grams
  • 1/2 c grilled chicken: 18 grams
  • 1/4 avocado:1 gram
  • /12 c Carrots, Caesar dressing, pesto mayo: 1 gram
  • 1 square Trader Joe’s 72% Pound Plus dark chocolate (unpictured): 1 gram

This lunch was tasty but reminded me of my issue with wraps—too much wrap, never enough filling! The slice reigns supreme.

  • Organic Cameo apple: nada protein, lotta fiber!

Pic from last week. Not much changed.

  • Kashi Chewy Peanut Butter Granola Bar: 7 grams

We had a glorious 3:30 dismissal from the office today! On my walk home from Grand Central, I stopped at Food Emporium to pick up a few things and noticed that Jell-O sugar free instant pudding was on sale for 99 cents from the usual $1.86! Hello 1-2-3 Cake as far as the eye can see!

I natch grabbed a box of Vanilla, but then the Pistachio flavor caught my eye as well. At 99 c? I’ll live a little!

I was hungry again by the time I got home, and knew exactly how I wanted to use my newest purchase.

Luck of…me?

  • 1/2 cup plain Chobani mixed with sugar-free instant Pistachio flavored pudding: 15 grams
  • Approx 1 tbs raw cashews: 1 gram

Well slap me sideways, this combination just beats all! I forgot how much I adore the almond-y flavor of pistachio, and coupled with the cool creamy texture of the yogurt, I am a smitten kitten! So glad I picked this up.

Ok kids, I’m off to go get ready for my dinner date tonight (deets to come), but at this point I’m up to 74 grams of protein—already solidly within my 69-92 goal range. AT-A-BEAN!

I’ll be back tomorrow to post the rest of today’s protein count, but I expect I won’t see a few of you till Monday. In which case, have a fabulous, SAFE holiday weekend!

Read Full Post »

Memorial Day is on the horizon, guys! I hope you’re all as pumped as I am for a long and (hopefully) sunny weekend, no matter what your plans are!

Today was a busy blur, but I gotta share this ABSURD and AMAZING workout with you!

During the last circuit workout I posted, I found myself marveling at just how effective plyometric training is for getting your heart rate up AND building strength (the circuit includes some plyo).

If you’re not familiar with the painful joy that is PLYO, click HERE here to read (what I deem to be) an accurate and comprehensive description. Basically, think high-powered, explosive movements that involve a lotta jumping!

I did some online digging last night, found this workout on Self.com and enlisted Frank the Tank to try it with me. And TRY we did…but after the first move, we weren’t quite sure what I’d gotten us into…

Forgive me.

Self Magazine Embarrass Yourself at the Gym and Like it Plyometric Workout:

REPEAT EACH OF THE BELOW FOR ONE MINUTE. TRY FOR ROUND 2 IF YOU DARE.

Soaring Eagle

Stand with feet hip-width apart, arms down. Squat, leaning torso forward and extending arms behind you, palms facing ceiling. Explode up, reaching arms and legs wide. Land with knees soft, feet hip-width apart, and squat low again.

Pop-Up

Start on all fours, knees under hips, wrists under shoulders. In a single, quick-fire movement, contract abs, push off floor with hands and jump to feet. Finish with knees bent, arms raised out front at shoulder height, palms down. Return to kneeling.

Pogo-Stick

Stand with feet apart, arms down and knees slightly bent. Contract abs and quickly push off toes, bursting up with feet and wrists flexed. Land softly on balls of feet with knees slightly bent.

Hurdle-Hop

Stand with feet together, elbows bent 90 degrees. Engage abs and hop from one foot to the other, raising leg up and out to side as you bend it. Allow arms to move freely to help balance.

Skater

Jump from side to side, landing on one leg and swinging the arms with each jump. This is a lateral move, so keep your body low to the ground, knees bent and don’t jump up too high.

Tush-Tuck

Lie faceup with knees bent, feet flat on floor and arms straight up. Contract abs and quickly roll up to standing. Then jump up and kick heels up and behind you toward butt. Land with knees slightly bent and return to start.

Open-Sesame

Stand with legs together, knees bent, elbows bent 90 degrees. Engage abs, then jump feet apart wider than hip-width, toes pointed out, knees soft. Jump feet back together.

Flutter-Kick

Lie faceup. Squeeze abs and butt as you alternately kick right leg and left leg quickly up toward ceiling.

The Straddler

Stand with left knee bent and right leg extended to right, elbows bent 90 degrees. Engage abs, then push off left foot and lift up vertically, driving right knee up. Land softly on right leg with left leg extended to left side.

Gettin’ Jiggy

Stand with feet hip-width apart, arms overhead. Hop on left foot, bending right knee to bring up right foot as you reach left hand toward right ankle to tap it. Hop onto right foot, bending left knee to tap left ankle with right hand.

I’m not gonna kittyfoot around with you guys, this workout is HARD. And to an innocent bystander, the moves (names should have been a clue) look absolutely ridiculous–we were in front of a giant Equinox window and appeared to be performing some sort of sick Broadway/Vaudeville act for passersby on the street below. 

HOWEVER, figuring out how to do each goofy exercise was a lot of fun, and the time flew, because we were enjoying ourselves despite the discomfort! (Click on the site link in the beginning of the post to see images of each move).

More importantly, it’s a really fantastic workout that targets and challenges pretty much every part of your bod. Frances and I made it through two full rounds, except I substituted the tush-tucks for more soaring-eagles the 2nd time. My tushie was tuckered after round 1!

You might look like a freak doing it, but you’ll be a sweaty happy freak when it’s all said and done.

Not afraid of a little nostril flare. S’how you know it’s good.

End scene and bring out the giant hook–I’m off to eat dessert and crawl in bed!

Read Full Post »